Hyatt Regency Vancouver Hotel Trip Report

Hyatt Hotel Vancouver

Hyatt Regency Hotel Vancouver

After a wonderful week at the cabin in Whistler we decided to spend a night in Vancouver before heading back home. It was early January and from what I’ve been told it’s the slowest time of year in Vancouver. Every hotel was available and prices even for the true five star hotels with Virtuoso and AMEX fine hotels and resorts benefits were hovering around $200 nightly.

I still had a few suite upgrade vouchers to use up thanks to my Hyatt Diamond status. The Hyatt rate was also $137 and I’ve never stayed at this hotel so I concluded I was getting a fair value. I’m sure I could have got the hotel on priceline for closer to $90 but then wouldn’t be able to use the suite upgrade.

We took the PCL bus from Whistler which dropped us off right at the Hyatt’s back door. I was carrying my snowboard bag, her skis, a backpack and a suitcase as I made it to the check-in area. There was no Elite line and the bellman never asked to help me out with the 100 pounds of gear I was hauling around. Check-in was quick and we headed to our room.

During check-in is when I found out the club lounge was closed for the night. This was actually another reason I booked this hotel since my Hyatt status gets me in for free. I only made the reservation a few hours before through Hyatt and they had to call the hotel direct to make sure I could use a suite upgrade so in a perfect world it would have been nice to know about this beforehand.

IMG_4285

IMG_4288

Entrance to living area. Look at those bags I had to haul too

Entrance to living area and that luggage

Nice bar area

Nice bar area

View from living area

View from living area

IMG_4291

The other bathroom was nearly identical, even had the same painting

The other bathroom was nearly identical, even had the same painting

Floorplan

Floorplan

Our suite was probably close to 900 square feet in size. But it was one of those chopped off style suites which use to be two separate rooms converted into a suite so it has virtually no flow. The first day we didn’t even use the living area and just relaxed on the balcony which was attached to the bedroom.

IMG_4299

IMG_4298

IMG_4289

Nice size!

Nice size!

Nice view

Nice view

Bar area in bedroom

Bar area in bedroom

Clean air filter :)

Clean air filter 🙂

We did walk into both hotels bars to entertain the idea of a drink or four there but both spots were empty, the new bar downstairs didn’t have a single person in it so we headed to Cactus Club and the Pacific Rim lobby lounge.

Carpaccio at Cactus Club across the street is excellent

Carpaccio at Cactus Club across the street is excellent

Lobby Lounge at Fairmont Pacific Rim (Report on this hotel coming soon)

Lobby Lounge at Fairmont Pacific Rim (Report on this hotel coming soon)

Great area to sit at the PacRim lobby bar

Great area to sit at the PacRim lobby bar

Overall the furniture was in good shape and you could tell it had a recent remodel. However there were lots of scuffs on the baseboards and walls. The bed was comfortable. The next morning we made our way to the restaurant to have breakfast. Since I’m a diamond member breakfast is included which is an awesome benefit of the program.

I forgot the details but we were entitled to around $35 each for breakfast. We went with the buffet in this case. I ordered a flax seed smoothie (the only one on the menu) and made my way to grab a fruit plate. Watermelon was the exotic choice here but if you prefer honey dew or cantaloupe, apples, or orange slices this will be more your style.

Then I asked for a small omelette from their station and added a couple slices of bacon and sausage. The gent making the omelette was a true class act, we joked a bit and it was really good. With literally 3 bites left on my plate my smoothie arrived. At this time I should say a smoothie is one of the best things you can have when you wake up with a hangover. Anyways it was awful, it may even beat the terrible pad thai I had at another Hyatt. My better half makes shakes often and she always uses flax seed so I thought it may be just me but she couldn’t stomach it either.

I requested the bill and then we waited for 15 minutes. I was patient with my shakes arrival but not the second time around. So we let the hostess know and continued with our day. Later on I did get a note from the manager and he apologized about the experience and offered a bottle of wine, I had to turn down because we were heading to the airport in a couple hours.

At checkout there was a line so I opted for the machines. It wasn’t a quick process and an agent that had become free came to help me out. I was charged for the internet (free for diamond members) and the breakfast shake so that took a bit of time to resolve even though I still ended up paying for that shake somehow?

I carried my bags and luggage and once again no bellman offered to help and that’s when I realized this hotel is a notch above a Holiday Inn but far from a luxury hotel. In other words it’s like one of those $66,000 Hyundai Equus cars that may look very similar to the $75,000 Mercedes E550 but at the end of the day underneath it all it really isn’t.

About behindthecockpit

My passions are travel, food, golf and frequent flyer points which help my dreams turn into reality.
This entry was posted in Hotels, Trip Reports and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

